Changing the world, and New Monasticism

The following is inscribed on the tomb of an Anglican Bishop in Westminster Abby (1100 A.D.) …

“When I was young and free and my imagination had no limits, I dreamed of changing the world. As I grew older and wiser, I discovered the world would not change, so I shortened my sights somewhat and decided to change only my country.

But it, too, seemed immovable.

As I grew into my twilight years, in one last desperate attempt, I settled for changing only my family, those closest to me, but alas, they would have none of it.

And now, as I lie on my deathbed, I suddenly realize: If I had only changed myself first, then by example I would have changed my family.

From their inspiration and encouragement, I would then have been able to better my country, and who knows, I may have even changed the world.”

I’m currently working on changing myself, starting with more time in silence to reflect on things, and working through some tapes from David Riddell, founder of Living Wisdom. I highly recommend checking out his tapes and courses.

On another note, I spent a fantastic weekend winding down at Ngatiawa, a contemporary monastery. I have been inspired by the new monastic way of life for some time now, and I’m seriously considering joining an intentional christian community next year, possibly an Urban Vision community. Watch this space for news on that one in the new year.

~ by humblemonkey on December 1, 2008.

One Response to “Changing the world, and New Monasticism”

  1. Good, so check others who are doing this , our list at Yahoo have about 440 members, bishops, priests, monastics, hermits from traditional and new types of communities doing exactly this 24/7 in the here and now of the present moment and zenlike in everyday life at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/monasterion

    a hermit

Leave a Reply

 
