The mystery of human mutuality

As we go deeper into the gospel message of redemption and liberation, we realise very quickly that it is not an individualistic message.. but that, as MLK once said so well, all people “are caught in an inescapable network of mutuality”.

Until we  realise that our liberation is tied up with the liberation of our neighbor, I think we will always be caught somewhere between the equally destructive dichotomies of either pitying the other, or loathing the oppressor.

Perhaps this quote puts it best:

“If you have come to help me, you are wasting your time. But if you have come because your liberation is bound up with mine, then let us work together.”

– Lilla Watson,
Aboriginal elder, educator, and activist

~ by humblemonkey on July 23, 2009.

3 Responses to “The mystery of human mutuality”

  1. Yes! Great quote. In Africa, the philosophy of ubuntu inspires me–I am who I am because of who you are. You’re probably familiar with it. It’s a me/we way of approaching life and moving forward towards justice, which recognizes that our freedoms are tightly woven together. “An injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere,” I believe is how MLK stated and lived into the concept of ubuntu.

  2. Yes, I came across the Ubuntu philosophy in some research I did (a movie called iThemba I think.. have you seen it?).. so wonderful! The interconnectedness and interdependence of all people (and all life, as the latest science reveals) has been held as obvious by most tribal and indigenous peoples for a long time. We have so much to learn from them about our own spirituality and message. I’ve been reading about the life of Gandhi.. a man who took the Sermon on the Mount seriously, and taught us Christians that it could be done.

  3. Gandhi was a man of Jesus’ own heart, wasn’t he? I wish that those of us who call ourselves Christians could follow so closely.

    I have not seen that movie; I’ll have to see if I can find it.

Leave a Reply

 
