My Future House, part 1

One day I will have my own house, and it will be the awesome.

It will be a place where people in need can come and stay, where manaakitanga (hospitality) is the chief law, and where people will come to rest, find healing, and laughter.

I’ve decided to dream about my future house here on my blog. So here goes. My first of many ideas.

➢    The Drumming Room
I love percussion, ever since Callum lent me his djembe and I played around with it over a summer and suddenly discovered I had rhythm (I still can’t dance though).

Percussion is brilliant, because its both creative and communal. Beginner or Master, you can join a drumming circle and add something to it. The Beginners need the Masters to show them what’s possible, and the Masters need the beginners to lay down the steady rhythms over which they like to improvise. Its fun, interactive, esteem-building, participatory, and awesome. And with a bit of creativity, you can make a noise on just about anything, as groups like Stomp and Strike have shown us.. bring on the pipes, trash cans and corrugated iron!

So, my drumming room. It will look something like all of these pictures combined:

It will need to be soundproofed of course, but that’s easy enough with a bit of ahrd work. Besides, I’d love to open up the room to the community for different projects. It would be a great asset to youth development initiatives and alternative education classes etc. Most young people I’ve met would love to have a go at making a racket! Why not make a racket and build community at the same time?

Good times.

~ by humblemonkey on August 19, 2009.

3 Responses to “My Future House, part 1”

  1. I’m already a big fan of your home!

    I love percussion, too, and though I don’t add much rhythm to the drum circle, I love dancing in the center of them.

    One of my favorite things in the old Newseum in Washington, DC, was the drum section, where they call them the earliest form of mass communication. Drums not only sound amazing and help get a rhythm into your soul but they were also used to tell stories. I believe I’m drawn to percussion, perhaps, because of my love for story.

  2. Oooo you are dreaming house too? I have a room full of yarn and comfy chairs/cushions planned 😉

  3. Hey. Thank you for stopping by my blog. I am currently using drumming guide kind of theme myself.

Leave a Reply

 
