Haiku

When I was in Japan several years ago, I fell in love with the concept of Haiku. Japanese haiku are traditionally associated with nature, and have the classic 5- 7- 5 syllable or ‘on’ structure. Haiku were mostly discounted in the west as having little poetic value until recently. Now, many modern western poets have begun to appreciate the Haiku.

You will often notice the Japanese haiku, translated to English, use less syllables then 575. Because of this I tend to favour writing Haiku in a free meter.. eg, without the 5- 7- 5 syllable constraint… because it keeps the idea of simplicity. I like the concept that a Haiku is like a poetic photograph. It captures a moment in time. Her are some of my favourite Haiku that I’ve written over the years:



Long train ride
My heart beats in time
with the tracks, with the tracks







Glancing up
That cloud has moved again
Sneaky, sneaky








Summers day
Through the privy hedge
The laughter of children I don’t know








Sudden wind
The bamboo stalks
Wave hello








Tokyo sunrise
The curtains unveil
Winking steel








Rolling over and
Realising its Saturday and
Rolling over







~ by humblemonkey on November 12, 2009.

One Response to “Haiku”

  1. Yummy!

    I like that you ignore the 5-7-5.

    “Summers day”–so lovely a photograph.

Leave a Reply

 
