I pray

I pray

and when I pray
I condense my very being
into words
to scrawl myself in hurried ink
upon the threshold of your throne
a humble text
eager to be criticised
surrendering all ownership of my material
its rhythm and argument
into the hands of its author
no longer the victim of my own amateur arrangement
but
thirsty for your themes
your penmanship
yearning to be rewritten in red
in the ink you have obtained for me
to become a composition worthy of close-reading
and one that would instill in others
a propensity
for poetry

I pray

~ by humblemonkey on November 12, 2009.

One Response to “I pray”

  1. Ooo! I was going to go to sleep, but I was wooed by your delicious haiku! And now this . . .
    “thirsty for your themes
    your penmanship”

    “to become a composition worthy of close-reading
    and one that would instill in others
    a propensity
    for poetry”

    I love the shift after “but.” I feel the cadence shift from the hurried self-scrawling to a desire for the steady, faithful handwriting of a masterful Author of Creation.

    Love, love, love! Keep your poetry coming, my friend.

    I wrote a song about passing the pen to God years ago (I think I told you this already).

Leave a Reply

 
